Navigation:  Add2Outlook Administration Guide >

Editing Relationships

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

If you need to change the settings of an existing relationship, be sure to consult either the section Recommended Relationship Settings to assist you in making the correct choices.

Any changes to the relationships MUST be done logged in as the User.

Effects of various changes to existing items or rules:

Most options may be changed after relationship creation with the exception of the source or destination folder selection and the Auto place Text.  To change either of these options, you must delete the relationships and most often select to remove the destination items, let the system sync again and then remake the relationship after it has completed removing the relationship and destination items.  This way there is no duplication and the source and destination folders are re picked correctly and the autoplace text option will fill in what you desire.  Changes take effect the next time Add2Outlook synchronizes.

Again, you cannot edit the source or destination folders of the relationship, as these are what define the relationship in Add2Exchange.  In order to do so, you need to delete this relationship and create a new one between the desired folders.

Also, removing or changing the automatic “Place Text Before or After Subject/File As field” does not remove the text from the prior synchronized items, but rather it only affects new items after the change.  If this text is ok to be changed moving forward, edit the field and new items will sync that way.  If all items are to be changed to the new selection in “auto place text” then delete the relationship and select to remove destination items, and sync, and then remake the relationship correctly.  All items will now have the correct auto place text.

Changing the synchronization window does not remove calendar or task items which have already been synchronized to the destination that now fall outside the window.  This window is a sliding window and does not remove destination items which fall outside the range.

Checking "Do Not Copy Private Items" does in fact delete from the destination the copies of those items marked private in the source folder and will do so even if the item was copied, and then the original was marked private subsequently.  The sync will remove it anytime even if the relationship was set that way after it copied.

Changing either Source Item Deleted Resolution or Destination Item Deleted Resolution from Mark Item “Deleted” to a setting which does deletions or recopies does not delete items which have been processed by the earlier setting and does not recopy the items.  The items marked “deleted” are orphans and will not copy again because there is no source to copy from.

To edit relationships, go to the Add2Outlook Console.

Depending on your version of Outlook, you access the Add2Outlook Console or Configuration Tab differently.

Outlook 2010: The Add2Outlook Console Tab or Configuration page is located in the File Options Add-ins page, Add2Outlook.

Outlook 2007: The Console Tab or Configuration page is located in Tools, Options, Add2Outlook.

Outlook 2003: The Add2Outlook Console is actually a tab from within Outlook Tools, Options, Add2Outlook.

Open the Add2Outlook Console for your version of Outlook.  We will continue with the Outlook 2010 installation example as the screens are the same.

 

 

1. Right-click the relationship and select Edit, or from the File Menu, select Edit.

2. Choose the options you would like to change and then click OK.

Tip: The Relationship Edit Dialog is the same dialog as the Create new relationship, except there is no option for the option specified when made and what to do with Existing items called “For Existing Items”.  This option is only valid the first time you make the relationship.  If you did not want to copy all items, or selected not to copy all existing items and you want to change your selection, instead of editing the relationship, you must delete it, select to remove the destination items and then run a full sync cycle.

3. Edit the options and save.