Navigation:  Add2Exchange Administration Guide >

Planning Calendar Relationships

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Proper planning eliminates the possibility of duplication when creating calendar relationships.

When creating calendar relationships in Add2Exchange, the goal is to have one (or more) locations where new or existing appointments are synchronized based on the relationship settings; however, prior to having the automatic Add2Exchange synchronization relationships, users could have  MANUALLY copied the items from the public to their private or from their private to their public (Source to Destination).

Since Add2Exchange does not de-duplicate, if the user copied the items over manually and Add2Exchange synchronized, there could potentially be two of everything, or "duplicates"  The next time Add2Exchange synchronized, it would still only have two copies, but one of the duplicates would be tied to the Source and the other copy  would not.  True Duplication occurs for only three reasons:

1. Users were invited to a meeting which was created in the public folder and the user also has a public-to-private relationship.  This is completely normal and in fact, very handy.

2. When users have been manually copying items from the Source prior to implementing Add2Exchange.

3. The Add2Exchange system is configured incorrectly with incorrect memberships or permissions.

Duplication can APPEAR to have happened because items were actually created in both places.  After synchronization the two items look very similar, but were actually created separately in both places.  This is not duplication.  For calendar appointments, there is usually not much duplication; however, Contacts and Tasks duplication is more common.

In order for Add2Exchange to operate correctly without duplication, the Destination folder should be cleaned out manually prior to synchronization or the various Source folders should be consolidated to one folder and then de-duplicated there, before relationships are set up.  Only after the contents Source folder is established and contains only the set of information you want, do you set up an Add2Exchange relationship. Usually the original contents of the Destination folder is either deleted or moved (preferably moved to a backup folder).

The Destination folder could be cleaned out of any manually copied items after synchronization if the Add2Exchange relationship was set so that if Destination items are deleted, the system would Recopy the Source Items, but it is almost always a better idea to do the data de-duplication prior to setting up a relationship in Add2Exchange.  If you do de-duplication after synchronization and set to Recopy deleted Destination items, both duplicate items could be deleted from the Destination, and then the right one would come back after synchronization.

Private-to-Public or Public-to-Private:  If users are not currently using a public folder, and you are going to make one for these purposes, then there is obviously no duplication in the Source or Destination.  Also, if users are not currently using their private folder, and you want all the items from the public to go to their private, then again there is no duplication.

 

Sync Scenarios:

IMPORTANT! Remove the manually copied items from the Destination before synchronization.

1. You want to create a private-to-public calendar relationship or public-to-private calendar relationship and you never used a public folder before:

If there never was a public folder being used, make a new public calendar in Outlook and make sure the Service Account has the proper client "Ownership" and "Folder Contact" permissions to the new public calendar.  Then create the relationship.  During the next synchronization of Add2Exchange, the public folder will subsequently be filled with the user's private folder items.

2. You want to create a public-to-private calendar relationship or a private-to-public calendar  relationship and your users are not using either their private or public folders:

If only the public calendar is being used for scheduling and the user's private calendars are empty, then no manual deleting is necessary prior to creating a relationship from the public to the private.  Making the Add2Exchange public-to-Private relationship will fill the private calendar with the appointments from the public.

3. You want to create a public-to-private or private-to-private calendar relationship and your users have been manually copying appointments from a public or private folder to their private folder:

If everything was created in the public calendar and the user manually copied the items to their private calendar, and if you make a relationship from public-to-private with those manually copied items, the Destination Private Calendar will be filled with duplicates – duplicates of the items the user copied over manually, and the items populated by the  Add2Exchange relationship.  Add2Exchange does not and cannot see that the manually copied items are actually the same and de-duplicate them before it synchronizes.  Add2Exchange assumes the items are originals.

Tip:  If you want all the private calendar items made in one user's folder to go to another user's folder, you HAVE to make a private-to-private relationship, from Source to Destination.

Many users believe they can make a relationship and copy items from User 1 to a public folder and then make a relationship from the public to User 2 so that User 1's information will go to User 2. Since Add2Exchange will never copy a copy, if all User 1's items are to go to the public and User 2's folder, you will need to create at least two relationships: one from the Source (User 1) to the public folder AND one from the Source (User 1) to User 2's folder.  Add2Exchange will not copy a copy, and the relationship must be built from Source to Destination.  Three relationships are required to have the mutual relationship with the private-to-public, and one from private-to-private.  To have a mutual relationship from private-to-private and a mutual from public-to-public, four relationships are required.

4. You want to make private-to-public calendar relationships and your users have manually been copying items from their private to the public calendar:

Tell your users to mark any items as "Private" (a checkbox in the bottom right side of the calendar item) in their private folders.  If marking every item as private is not possible in your situation, you could delete all items in the public folder or make a new public folder, give the Service Account client ownership and folder contact and set up a relationship with the relationship option to Copy No items.  By selecting this option, none of the items within the date range will be copied to the new folder, only new ones added either in or after the date range when the synchronization window encompasses them.

Tip: If you create a new public calendar, the old calendar which had been filled manually should be saved for backup and eventually discarded. Be sure to let your users know since any shortcuts to the original public folder will no longer work.  Also, we suggest hiding the old folder to avoid confusion.

blog comments powered by Disqus

 


Page url: http://guides.diditbetter.com/a2e-guide/planning_calendar_relationships.htm