Navigation:  Add2Exchange Install Guide >

Backup Considerations

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Manual Backup

You could manually backup Add2Exchange by stopping the Add2Exchange Service, and the A2esqlserver service.

This tool will assist:

(C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenDoor Software®\Add2Exchange\Service Restart\Add2Exchange Service Stop.exe)

And copy the files under the \Database Directory:

C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenDoor Software®\Add2Exchange\Database

Best is the entire directory and subdirectory contents:

C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenDoor Software®\Add2Exchange

 

Recovery

Normally if something fails, it is usually not our server; however if it does, if you have at least a copy of the database from the last time you made information relationships changes  - - we can usually reconstruct it remotely under Premier Support without issue.

We need the relationships and the metadata in the database referring to what we copied within Exchange for a smooth reconstruction in a disaster. A recent copy of the database enables us to restore it and avoid duplication – without de-replication of Add2Exchange tied copies.

If the Add2Exchange machine is a VM, avoid reverting the replication server to a prior instance (unless it is also the Exchange server – and if you are doing that, you are in deep) because this event is similar to the restore of a database to an earlier version.  If you are restoring Exchange to a snapshot before the Add2Exchange backup, we may not copy some items we think we already have.  If you are restoring the Add2Exchange replication server to an earlier version, it may cause duplicates.

In the event of an Add2Exchange database restore, or system failure and reinstall of Add2Exchange, this “worst case” would involve a desync - which you can do from the Add2Exchange toolkit as a “start over” if you have the Add2Exchange database to restore.

This “desync” can also be done “surgically”, or one folder at a time, with the Surgeon General and Add2Exchange Diags tools to blank the metadata database.

Caution:  As a side note, using the Add2Exchange Toolkit to surgically delete items from folders without removing the metadata stored in the user properties table can result in relationship item deletion triggers activating.  If you remove copies and leave the metadata in place, it would appear to the working system that the user deleted the copies, and if the relationship was set to delete sources if destination items are deleted, then it could potentially delete the source items. 

In the Enterprise edition, at least backup the database after every relationship change or export the setup from the Console\Help option and save somewhere so we can reference the current relationships.  If you backup our entire directory, the \Registry directory has backup copies of Add2Exchange Standard relationships. We would also caution about importing prior registry files into the registry.  Email tech support prior, save what was there first, and track changes if tempted to fix it in this way (which would almost be never).

In Add2Exchange Standard, we store the relationships in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\OpenDoor Software®

In Enterprise, we store the relationships in the database.

In a disaster, start here at: Support Request but please don’t do anything in regards to Add2Exchange until you get a response.  We will help you find the simplest fix for your unique situation.

 

 

blog comments powered by Disqus

 


Page url: http://guides.diditbetter.com/a2e-guide/backup_considerations.htm