When the Destination appointment is deleted, this rule specifies what should happen to the Source folder item or whether the Source item should be recopied to the Destination.
If the Destination item is deleted, Do Nothing: The Do Nothing option does nothing to the original item in the Source folder. Selecting this option also specifies the original Source item will never come back to this Destination unless the item is either deleted and made again in the Source, or the relationship was deleted, copies removed and the relationship rebuilt.
|•||This option is useful to prune unwanted items from the Destination folder. In Contact relationships, for example, a user may not want some of the Contacts which were originally copied from the Source. If the user deletes the items from the Destination, Add2Exchange will not copy them during synchronization.|
|•||If the information goal is to have both Source and Destination folders the same, then leave this option alone, a more common option to use is the Recopy option.|
If the Destination item is deleted, Delete Source: The Delete Source option will remove the original tied copy in the Source folder. Caution is warranted when using this option unless you fully understand the implications of a two-way relationship on deletes. Users can accidentally (or on purpose) delete an item in the Destination and it will delete the Source item.
Mark Item as Deleted: Leaves the original tied copy in the Source folder, but adds the word Deleted to the beginning of the subject line of the tied copy of Appointments and Tasks and in the "File as" field of a Contact item in the Destination folder.
Recopy Source Item: This option is useful if a user accidentally (or on purpose) deletes an item from their Destination and it is imperative that the Destination has the same items as the Source. If a relationship has this option specified, if a user deletes the Destination item, the original Source item will be recopied to the Destination regardless of how many times they delete it from their Destination.
Tip on Calendars: Most users SAY they want to delete the Source item if the Destination item is deleted in order to clean up their calendars. However, this is almost ALWAYS a bad idea if more than one user has a relationship from this folder (one-to-many) and more than one user has this power. If this option is set, if a user accidentally (or on purpose) deletes a copy of someone else's appointment, appointments can just start "magically" disappearing from the Source calendar, causing information loss. Again, the most common setting of the rule is to either Do Nothing or Mark the item Deleted or Recopy item.
Also, if the appointment is to be Rescheduled, or Canceled, it would be best to train your users to edit the subject of the item and add the text: "Rescheduled to such-and-such date", and then make a completely new item on the new date. Users will then easily be able to track what is happening to the appointment. If the appointment is canceled, entering the text: Canceled because… in the subject allows users to know the item is no longer valid, instead of just having the appointment disappear from user's Destination folders. Having this just disappear can cause the users confusion and concern.
Tip on Contacts: Most users of a Private-to-Public Contact relationship do not want to delete the Source item if the Destination item has been deleted from the public. Usually they would select Recopy Source. In a Public-to-Private Contact relationship, your organization may not want to let the user delete their Destination copy. In this kind of relationship, if the user can delete their copy of a Contact and it deletes the public Source, if the user gets angry, they can delete all their Contacts from the public folder. In this relationship, it may be best to mark the public item copy as Do nothing – to enable the user to prune out the Contacts for only those needed. Another popular option is to Recopy the Source item so the folders are always in synchronization.
IMPORTANT MOBILE DEVICE Tip: If you or your users are synchronizing to a mobile device, sometimes the profile between the mobile device and the Outlook user becomes invalid and must be re-established. Often the user is asked whether to replace what is in Outlook with what is on the mobile device or to replace what is on the mobile device with what is in Outlook. BE CAREFUL! Be sure to (inform your users to) ALWAYS replace what is in the mobile device with what is in Outlook. If the mobile device is empty, updating the contents of Outlook with what is on the mobile device will automatically delete everything from Outlook if the user has a two-way relationship. If you delete everything in Outlook with what is in an empty mobile device, depending on the options specified in the Source or Destination item deleted relationship settings, synchronizing the empty mobile device to Outlook may inadvertently delete the contents of the public folder or server-side mailbox. This would be a bad thing caused by a seemingly inconsequential USER PROMPT, and may require a restore from the offline backup of every Source AND Destination folders affected in the relationship(s).
Except in a rare case, you should almost always replace the information on the mobile device. If you are in the extremely delicate case where you have no backups and the only place the information resides is on the mobile device, disconnect the mobile device from synchronizing through wire or air, remove the relationships which affect that folder first before allowing the mobile device to overwrite the Outlook contents to minimize the possibility of an unintended ripple from the Deletion Rule.blog comments powered by Disqus