Navigation:  Add2Outlook Administration Guide >

Debugging and Logging

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

There are 4 types of logging:

1) No logging Except all Errors - No logging does not tell you how long it took to sync but will show errors.

2) Sync Start/Stop and all Errors - The normal default setting for normal operation, use Sync Start/Stop and all Errors Logging.

3) Full Verbose Logging - Full verbose logging is only useful if there are problems to figure out and shows connections, counts and much more information than is useful in a normally running system.  It is also relatively slow than start and stop logging.

4) Debug Logging - See below for details.

All types of logging shows errors.

We have added an Add2Outlook log in the normal event logs of a machine.

To see any and all logging events for Add2Outlook, you can open up the Services.msc application from Manage Computer, the run command or the shortcut in Administrative Tools for Event Viewer, and select the Add2Outlook log.

 

 

The most logging is Debug logging - Do not use unless instructed to do so by Technical Support please because it won't turn itself off and slows down everything.

Add2Outlook goes through to assist in Technical support if directed to do so.

To use this option, select the box for Debug Information Logging.  All validation and item replication details get written to the Add2Outlook Application Log of the local machine.

 

 

When you click Debug you will get a screen just like the one below, click OK:

 

 

The fourth type of logging is extreme and is for technical support help.  In normal operation there is no need to use Debug logging, as it severely slows the system down.  Set this option and be sure to turn off the option (unchecked) if needed so replication occurs quicker.  If directed to do so, and the log is sent to Support Request for analysis, be sure to turn the option off again.

The debug option allows for several other options in the Add-ins tab:

 

 

Add2Outlook Reset: This option will remove all items replicated by the current relationships without deleting the relationships.  The Add2Outlook Toolbox has more options and is often considered the better tool to use for this function.  The Add2Outlook Toolbox is licensed separately or as part of the Value Bundle.

Add2Outlook Report: This option will not sync, but simulate syncing and analyze where all the replicated items came from.  Again, the Add2Outlook Toolbox has more options and is often considered the better tool to use for this function.  The Add2Outlook Toolbox is licensed separately or as part of the Value Bundle.

If you have these options in the Add-in menu, turn off the Debug checkbox as shown above so as not to accidentally press these buttons.