Navigation:  Add2Exchange Administration Guide > Managing Relationships >

Deleting Relationships

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Note: If you are deleting a single relationship, follow the instructions below.  If you want to delete a clone from the Relationship Group Manager, you need to edit the template.  In order to do so, go to the section Deleting Group Relationships or Detaching Templates in RGM.

Warning

If you delete a relationship, make sure the user account you are deleting is still active and available.  If the destination folder cannot be reached, the relationship will not be fully deleted and copies will not be removed.

Instead, the relationship will end up in the trash bin.  You can force deletion of the relationship from the trash bin as shown in this section, but if the destination folder is not available, destination copies will still not be available for deletion.

Recreating a deleted relationship which had not had its destination copies removed will result in duplication unless the copies are cleaned up manually beforehand.

Feature Changed as of Version 6

Deletion of relationships is now processed by the Add2Exchange service.  This means a full synchronization cycle must complete before the effects of relationship deletion are visible and before a relationship may be recreated.

Prior versions of Add2Exchange performed deletions from the console application.  This is no longer the case.

Main Console Window (Grid View - Add2Exchange Enterprise)

Main Console Window (Tree View - Add2Exchange Standard)

1)Find the relationship in question and click on it to select it, either in tree or grid view
2)Depending on the view, either right-click the relationship and select Delete or click the Delete button.  See the prior illustrations for the difference.

Relationship Deletion Confirmation Dialog

3)Click OK.

Relationship Deletion Confirmation Dialog

4)Click Yes.

Deletion Reason Dialog

5)Enter a reason for the deletion for logging purposes and click OK.

Deletion Notice Dialog

6)Choose the option for dealing with destination copies and click the appropriate selection.  If you are unsure, it is recommended you select Remove Destination copies to avoid duplication should the same relationship be recreated. There are three options for what to do with the destination copies:

Option

Action

Remove Destination copies

This option visits the destination folder during the next synchronization and removes the copies made by this relationship.  Copies from other relationships, if any, are left intact.  This is the recommended option if you are unsure of which option to take.

Leave Destination items as Copies

This option does nothing with the copies in the destination.  Copies are left still marked (in a hidden fashion) which were created by Add2Exchange and cannot be synchronized as source items in other relationships.

See the section Folder Grouping for details on why Add2Exchange copies are not valid source items for relationships.

This option may be useful for historical purposes, for example, to keep track of calendar appointments from the past.

Keep the Copies as originals

This option visits all of the copies in the destination and will unmark them as Add2Exchange copies.  If there are other relationships which use this folder as a source, then those relationships will see these items as new items in the source, replicating the items to their destinations.

Relationship Deletion Notice Dialog

7)Click OK.

The relationship has now been marked for deletion.  Until the Add2Exchange service synchronizes, the relationship will appear in the trash bin:

Main Console Window (Tree View)

Under Construction

Currently there is no trash bin view in the console grid view.  See the section Look and Feel for details on switching to the tree view.

Forcing Deletion of Relationships

If the destination folder of a relationship is not available and you have chosen to try to remove or change destination items, the relationship will not be able to be processed and will remain in the trash bin.

This gives you the opportunity to remedy the issue which is preventing access to the destination folder.  If you can resolve this issue, do so and run synchronization again.  See the section Troubleshooting for details on resolving such issues.

If you cannot resolve the issue, you may force delete the relationship without further processing.

Emptying Trash Bin

1)Right-click Trash - Deleted Items.
2)Select Empty Trash.

Empty Trash Confirmation

3)Click OK.

The relationships will be forcefully deleted during the next synchronization cycle.  This means that should the destination folders become available, the destination items will be processed.  But if the destination folders are not available, the relationship will be deleted anyway, possibly leaving behind Add2Exchange copies in them.

blog comments powered by Disqus

 


Page url: http://guides.diditbetter.com/a2e-guide/deleting_relationships.htm