Navigation:  Legacy Upgrade of Add2Exchange V3 or Prior >

Monitoring the Start Over

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

You can monitor the process through the Task Manager application.  Start the Task Manager by right-clicking on the Taskbar and selecting Task Manager.

Starting Task Manager

Go to the Processes tab and sort on Image Name by clicking the column heading.

Add2Exchange Upgrade In Process

Wait for the A2E Director.exe process to exit for at least two minutes.  This will leave the Add2Exchange Service.exe process remaining by itself.

Checking for Completion of the Upgrade Process

At this point you can check the completion of the process by examining the Event Viewer logs for Add2Exchange.

Upgrade Completion Log Message

The upgrade process can be very time-consuming, depending on the number of relationships and number of items affected by those relationships.  The minimum amount of time you should allow for the upgrade is thirty minutes.  Check in again every thirty minutes or so until the process completes.  If you have over twenty relationships and many thousands of items, the process can take the better part of a day or more.

While the upgrade process is underway, copies created by Add2Exchange in Destination folders will not be available, so be sure to allow the process to run in its entirety to begin repopulating Destination folders as soon as possible for your end users.

The upgrade process is now ready to be verified.

Verifying Completion and Changing Relationships

Since deletion of Add2Exchange copies is part of the upgrade process, you want to verify that nothing unexpected has happened to your items in Source folders.  Occasionally Add2Exchange copies may have been inadvertently placed in a Source folder by hand, resulting in unexpected (but correct) deletion of Source items.  If this has happened, this stage of the process provides special recovery options.

Verify the results of the upgrade process by visiting the Source folder(s) in Outlook and examining the item counts in the lower left-hand corner.  Verify that this number matches the number you began with.  If you are missing important items, refer to the Missing Source Items section below.

Outlook Item Count

Note that for Calendars, you need to select a view which includes all items, such as the By Category view, in order to see the total count.  You can set the item view in the Advanced toolbar, highlighted in the upper right-hand corner of the figure.  To enable this toolbar, go to the View > Toolbars menu.

If you have verified that your Source folders are in good condition, open the Add2Exchange Console.  You will see the upgrade Completion Dialog.

Upgrade Completion Dialog

Alert

Do not use the Scrub Only option unless you have lost important items from the Source folder(s).  In this case you need to refer to the Missing Source Items section below.

If you receive a different dialog discussing item corruption in Exchange, refer to the section Invalid Items below.

Click OK to confirm success and enter the console.

Prior Versions

Version 3.6 and 3.7 of Add2Exchange limited the number of relationships from a single source folder.  If, in order to avoid this limitation, you created multiple instances of a source folder, you should consolidate those instances and rebuild the relationships from the new source.  Do it at this point, prior to synchronization of the new Add2Exchange version.

Starting the Add2Exchange Service

Add2Exchange Service Dialog

When you are ready, exit the Console and click Yes to start the service.  Add2Exchange will now begin synchronizing and repopulating Destination folders.  Provide enough time for the synchronization cycle to complete before notifying users that the process has finished.

Troubleshooting the Upgrade Process

Missing Source Items: If you find the Source items are not as they were expected to be, for example important items are missing from the Source folder(s), then don't click OK.   Take a moment to read this section and then follow the instructions.

If items are missing, it is likely there were Add2Exchange copies inadvertently placed in your Source folder.  If you need these items back, use your backups to restore the items to the Source folder(s).  DO NOT do a full Exchange restore, only restore those items residing in Source folders, since the Scrub Only process will not remove Destination folder items, which is a major point of the upgrade process.

Once the items are restored, go back to the still-open confirmation dialog and click Scrub Only.  The process will run again.  Monitor the process as described already and verify the Source folder(s) again.  The outcome should now match your expectations and you can continue with the Verifying Completion and Changing Relationships section above.

Invalid Items: Occasionally the upgrade process may find items in Exchange which cannot be processed.  These may called corrupted messages or invalid messages.  The upgrade process cannot complete while these messages exist because they will cause synchronization to fail.  Take a moment to read this section and then follow the instructions.

Invalid items must be salvaged manually before they are deleted by the upgrade process.  While the upgrade process has been specially designed to handle these kinds of items and can remove them where other tools cannot, it is not able to remove all of the invalid items in all cases.  If so, the process will run and complain about invalid items again.  If this occurs, contact DidItBetter Support or an Exchange expert for assistance removing them.  In many cases, the only way to delete such stubborn items is to remove and recreate the containing folder.  To salvage the information from the items, you will be given a list of the Subjects of the items (contact names or meeting or task subjects) and their containing folders.

Upgrade Invalid Items Dialog

Click the Print Contents button for a full list of the items.  You must click this button before you can move to the next stage of the process.

Visit the folders in question in Outlook and write down or export as much of the information as possible from these items.  You will use this information later to recreate the items before synchronizing with the new version.  Remember to do this step.

Once you have recovered as much information as possible, click the Delete Messages button.

Start the Add2Exchange Service and monitor the process as described in the topic Initiating the Upgrade.

If the upgrade did not go as expected, call Technical Support after reading the following topic Advanced Options.

blog comments powered by Disqus

 


Page url: http://guides.diditbetter.com/a2e-guide/monitoring_the_start_over.htm